Install Mate on Fedora [Fedora 17]

Fedora

There are stable MATE x86_64/i386 rpms for Fedora 16 and 17. To install them, follow those steps:

  • Fedora 16

    yum install http://dl.dropbox.com/u/49862637/Mate-desktop/mate-desktop-fedora/releases/16/noarch/mate-desktop-release-16-5.fc16.noarch.rpm
    yum install atril
    yum groupinstall MATE-Desktop
  • Fedora 17
    yum install http://dl.dropbox.com/u/49862637/Mate-desktop/fedora_17/mate-desktop-fedora/noarch/mate-desktop-release-17-1.fc17.noarch.rpm
    
    yum install atril
    yum groupinstall MATE-Desktop
    Image
About ardian
I'm a young free/libre open source software/linux, enthusiast who has been working on promoting FLOSS in Kosovo. I'm helping my fellow peopel here in Kosovo in learning GNU/Linux. I helped run the first SFK09(Software Freedom Kosova 09) conference. I organised and talked in many locations in my country. I also have been learning and working on the OpenStreetMap project for Kosovo. I'm working on translating different software packages into Albanian.

4 Responses to Install Mate on Fedora [Fedora 17]

  1. nicu says:

    thanks! will give it a try

  2. Max says:

    I love you MATE….A proper desktop back on my F17 VM!!!!! I can now migrate my old F13 box!

  3. FC says:

    Why download from dropbopx? who guarantees the safety of these packages? How many trojans will I get? ;-P

    FC

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 634 other followers

