Vagrant for developers

I have been using vagrant for a week now and I must say it’s a really nice tool. Vagrant for those who don’t know, it’s basically a virtual machine (based on VirtualBox but has also other options).

Why do i find it cool

- Fast to setup (You can choose one of the images from vagrantcloud and will install it in a few min)

- Have the same environment in different operating system (no matter if you start developing in linux and end up developing under windows, you can use the same setup)

- Share the same environment with other developers

- Share your http/ssh or other port in the internet (Vagrantcloud generates a url where you can send other people to your vm)

These are just some of the things I’ve been using and enjoyed with vagrant it has more features and it is getting better every time.

http://www.vagrantup.com/

Vagrant

Vagrantup

About ardian
I'm a young free/libre open source software/linux, enthusiast who has been working on promoting FLOSS in Kosovo. I'm helping my fellow peopel here in Kosovo in learning GNU/Linux. I helped run the first SFK09(Software Freedom Kosova 09) conference. I organised and talked in many locations in my country. I also have been learning and working on the OpenStreetMap project for Kosovo. I'm working on translating different software packages into Albanian.

2 Responses to Vagrant for developers

  1. mx says:

    Use docker

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 634 other followers

